Principal Investigator

Brad Easton

Professor of Chemistry

Research Excellence Chair in Electrochemical Energy Materials

Ph.D., B.Sc. (Memorial University of Newfoundland)

Brief Bio

Google Scholar Profile 

Graduate Students

Rana Ahmad

MSc Candidate

BSc (Ontario Tech 2019)

Thesis title: Novel materials for electrochromic films 

* Co supervised with Prof. Olena Zenkina.

Keenan Black-Araujo

MSc Candidate

BSc (Ontario Tech 2020)

Thesis title: Anodic electrocatalytic reactions using low bandgap metal oxide supports

Holly Fruehwald

PhD Student

BSc (Ontario Tech 2017)

Project title: N-functionalized surfaces for electrochemical energy systems

* Co supervised with Prof. Olena Zenkina.

Twitter: @holly_fruehwald


Mason Sullivan

MSc Candidate

BSc (Ontario Tech 2018)

Project title: Conductive metal oxide catalyst supports for fuel cells

Postdoctoral Fellows

Reza Alipour

Postdoctoral Fellow

PhD (Politecnico di Torino, 2016), MSc (University Putra Malaysia, 2010), BSc. (Islamic Azad University, 2004)

Project title: Conductive metal oxide-based fuel cell catalyst supports


Iraklii Ebralidze

Instrument Specialist - Materials Characterization Facility

PhD (Weizmann Institute of Science, 2009)

Undergraduate Students

Peter Melino

4th year Honors thesis student

Project title: Surface modification of low band gap metal oxide materials

Completed Theses and Group Alumni

NameJoinedCompletedCurrent Position
Adaobi Obua 2019 2020 MSc Student, Ontario Tech
Keenan Black-Araujo 2019 2020 MSc Student, Ontario Tech
Sydney Cobourn 2016 2020 Analytical Chemist II, Toronto Research Chemicals Inc.
Stefano Zago 2019 Visiting PhD student PhD Student, Politecnio di Torinio (Italy)
Zixian Pan 2019 Visiting student BSc Student, Nanjing University (China)
Reza B. Moghaddam 2017 PDF 2019

Instrumentation Specialist, SnowHouse Solutions

Richard Acheampong 2017 MSc 2019 Instructor, Durham College
Rana Ahmad 2018 Honor's Thesis 2019 MSc Student, Ontario Tech
Sulaiman Torakhel 2018 Undergrad research assistant N/A
Jade Poisson 2017 Honor's Thesis 2018 MSc Student, UBC
Paoloa Piavano 2018 Visiting student MSc Student, Politecnio di Torinio (Italy)
Mason Sullivan 2017 Undergrad research assistant MSc Student, Ontario Tech
Jacquelyn Egan 2017 Undergrad research assistant PhD Student, University of Glasgow
Jesse Allan 2016 PDF 2017 Chemist - LANXESS, Scarborough, ON
Christopher Odetola 2013 PhD 2017 Senior Analyst Technical Transfer at Pillar5 Pharma Inc., Ottawa, ON
Heather Geoffrey 2016 Honor's Thesis 2017 Radiation Technologist, Ontario Ministry of Labour
Rebecca Randle  2016 Visiting student

PhD student, University of Glasgow

Lukas Gierlichs  2016 Visiting student Chemistry MSc student, Cardiff University (UK)
Foroughazam Afsahi 2016 PDF 2016 Research Scientist, Ballard Power, Vancouver, BC
Mohammadreza Ghavidel 2012 PhD 2016 Corrosion and Materials Specialist, Camber Technology Corporation, Edmonton, AB
Veronica Cavallari 2015 Honor's Thesis 2016 Lab Technician, Ontario Tech
Holly Fruehwald 2016 Undergrad research assistant PhD student, Ontario Tech
Valerie Bartlett 2016 Undergrad research assistant Research Scientist, National Research Council, Ottawa, ON
Jesse Allan 2010 PhD 2016 Chemist - LANXESS, Scarborough, ON
O'Rian Reid 2013 MSc 2015 Research Scientist, Nano One, Vancouver, BC 
Naser Abdo 2013 MSc 2015 Analytical Chemist, Canada Food Inspection Agency, Calgary, AB
Dana Frackelton 2014 Undergrad research assistant  N/A
Dr. Ranganathan Santhanam 2013 2015 SEM Technician Research Chemist, Ontario Power Generation
Jennie Eastcott 2009 PhD 2014 Research Scientist, Hydrogenics, Mississauga, ON
Dr. Mohammad Rahman 2012 PDF 2014 Analytical PLCM, Apotex Inc, Toronto
Dr. Farhana Saleh 2011 PDF 2014 Validation Chemist, Apotex Pharmachem, Brantford, ON
Heather Geoffrey 2014 Undergrad research assistant Radiation Technologist, Ontario Ministry of Labour
Stephanie Mavilla 2011 MSc 2014 Instructor, Ontario Tech
Patrick Edge 2010 MSc 2013 Technical Representative – Eastern Canada, TA Instruments 
Laura Prest 2009 MSc 2011 Director of Research and Education at NorthCann Medz Inc, North York, ON
Dr. Malika Ammam 2010 PDF 2012 Assistant Professor & Rosalind Franklin Fellow, University of Groningen
O'Rian Reid 2011 Honor's Thesis 2013 Research Scientist, Nano One, Vancouver, BC 
Laura Duffin 2011 Honor's Thesis 2012 Lab Manager and Lead Chemist, Santo Cabo, Mexico
Kaitlyn Yarrow 2010 Honor's Thesis 2011 Teacher, Durham Region
Kathryn Navarro 2009 Honor's Thesis 2010 Senior Pathways and Credit Transfer Officer, Ontario Tech
Jesse Allan 2009 Honor's Thesis 2010 Chemist - LANXESS, Scarborough, ON
Andrew Pedersen 2008 Honor's Thesis 2010

Technical Sales at NORAM Engineering, Vancouver, BC 

Nicole De Almeida 2008 MSc. 2010 Inorganic Manager, Actlabs
Dr. Ranganathan Santhanam 2008 PDF 2010 Research Chemist, Ontario Power Generation
Amanda Northcott 2007 Honor's Thesis 2009 High School Teacher, Alberta
Allen Pauric 2008 Honor's Thesis 2009 Senior Scientist, Actlabs 
Jennie Eastcott 2007 Honor's Thesis 2008 Research Scientist, Hydrogenics, Mississauga, ON
Tara Andrusiak 2007 Undergrad research assistant Family, HIV and addiction medicine physician, Vancouver

Join the Group

Individuals interested in joining the group should contact me directly.

I am currently accepting highly qualified graduate students starting Fall 2021 in the MSc and PhD Materials Science programs. I am looking for students with a strong background in chemistry. Stipends will be competitive with those offered at other Canadian Universities.

Interested students are invited to contact me directly. Please indicate if you are a domestic candidate (Canadian citizen or have Permanent Resident status is Canada) or an international candidate as this will impact funding.